The White Wall

If ever there was a writer’s block in physical form, it would be white, it would be blank, and would likely be the size of a sheet of paper. I have plenty of ideas. Some I share, but most stay well within my mind. They aren’t even waiting to come out anymore. It’s like they run free in my head right before I am about to fall asleep, or am in the middle of something important. As soon as I sit down and open this or any other form of writing up, it is as if my ideas shy away and hide within the deep recesses of my mind. The blank white sheet of paper (or WordPress post, whatever) is my block in physical form. I’ve tried writing my ideas down as one-liners, but there’s so much more that could be said. When I try to write more than one line, it becomes difficult to find the words to describe my ideas to my satisfaction. If I try to force myself to write something, anything, I never go back to the subject I wanted to write about in the first place. I know writing is a trained skill; you cannot pick it up one day and expect to be Stephen King. I have these great tools at my fingertips, but I don’t know how to use them well. All I can do is chip away at the white wall with my untrained hands using a small, dull chisel, and hope that by the time I have chipped away a hole small enough for me to see through it, I will be prepared to really put my ideas down on paper the way I want others to see them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

